I’ve been reminded recently of a song I was taught a long time ago:

1. Oh, what do you do in the summertime, when all the world is green?
Do you fish in a stream, or lazily dream on the banks as the clouds go by?
Is that what you do? So do I!

2. Oh, what do you do in the summertime, when all the world is green?
Do you swim in a pool, to keep yourself cool, or swing in a tree up high?
Is that what you do? So do I!

3. Oh, what do you do in the summertime, when all the world is green?
Do you march in parades, or drink lemonades, or count all the stars in the sky?
Is that what you do? So do I!

Words and music: Dorothy S. Andersen, b. 1927

I’d add one verse:

Oh, what do you do in the summertime, when it’s so very hot?
Do you sip a cold drink, from the kitchen sink, while the AC is cranked up real high?
Is that what you do?  So do I!

I’m so grateful for the AC. Many folks here have swamp coolers. We had one for years, but it didn’t work the last 10 or so we had it. So, we used tons of box fans until about five years ago, when we replaced the furnace and added the AC at the same time. I don’t think I could bear to leave my mom at home in the hot house without it.

The only problem with the AC is that I’m not inclined to spend much time in the garden and yard, especially when most of my day is spent at work. So, I’ve been coming home, collapsing on the couch with a cold drink and then stitching for a few hours. It’s about all I’ve had the energy to do.

I have made progress on my Boo Club. I have made progress on socks. It’s been fun. Irresponsible, but fun. I also started a new thing yesterday. I saw this blog post by Lucy at Attic24, and when I showed it to my mom, we had to run to the store to buy yarn. We are both working on a new granny stripe blanket now. Here’s my progress so far:

Granny Stripes Start

And, here are the colors of Caron Simply Soft (100% acrylic from Good Ole’ WallyMart) that I’m using:

Granny Stripes Yarn

Row 1: Blue Mint – Lavendar Blue – Sunshine – Pistachio
Row 2: Persimmon – Plum Perfect – Soft Blue – Melon
Row 3: Orchid – Forest Floor – Plum Wine – Country Blue
Row 4: Berry Blue – Bone – Dark Sage – Vanilla – Dark Country Blue

I haven’t crocheted since I was about 12.  My thumb hurts… 🙂  It’s a good hurt though.  But, I think I’m going to have to actually pull weeds tonight.  Dang.

