Well folks, it’s been a very interesting spring here.  I have my veggie garden in, but with the huge amount of rain we’ve had (for our area) it’s not taking off yet.  It’s growing, but slowly.  I expect that my tomatoes will shoot up quickly in the coming weeks. I have taken a few pics of my little garden.  But, I don’t have them with me.  I’ll post them later. 

I have also stitched a little bit on The Riddle, and have been knitting a scarf from some Noro yarn that is really fun.  And, I won a chart on Karen’s blog!  Wow, I never win anything.  Well, I take that back.  I once won a drawing at Ladies Night at Deseret Book, but that was a diet cookbook.  Really depressing. 

I’ve really been enjoying having a little more free time since I graduated.  Of course, the first thing my boss asked was when I’d be starting my master’s program.  We’ll see.  Some of my free time last weekend was spent at the Hidden Garden Tour to benefit IHC’s Neonatal Intensive Care Unit.  There were 14 gardens on the tour from Orem to Alpine.  We left the gardens in Alpine to the last, because we were more interested in things we little people could afford to do.  We got caught in a big thunderstorm at the Magleby home in Alpine, and had to call it quits.  But, here are a few snaps from one of my favorite gardens on the tour, the Nixon Garden in Lindon: 

Tri-colored Beech

Tri-colored Beech

 
Shed with bicycle and arbor
Shed with bicycle and arbor
Nixon Landscape

Nixon Landscape

Nixon garden architecture close up

Nixon garden architecture close up

Outdoor room vignette - Old door with wreath and window

Outdoor room vignette - old door with wreath and window

Outdoor room vignette - old screen door with clematis

Outdoor room vignette - old screen door with clematis

 

I call this tree the Phyllis Diller Tree.  Note the bowling ball... no it's not a "gazing ball"!

I call this tree the Phyllis Diller Tree. Note the bowling ball... no it's not a "gazing ball"!

 
I loved the little girl statue on the right

I loved the little girl statue on the right

The only problem with the tour was that it got me thinking about how to change my front yard… when in reality, I need to actually landscape my backyard!  More pics to come in my next post!

 
 
 
