Sundays are a day of reflection for me.  It’s the only day of the week that I get to slow down and focus on what is important for more than a quick 15 minutes at a time.  I’ve thought a bit about this journey of life.  Okay, don’t leave me now, just because you think I’m going to wax philosophical on you.

I’ve just decided that there are some “baby steps” that I want to take, to insure that I’m finding joy in the journey.  I won’t share all of them with you here.  But, I will let you know that I have once again taken a somewhat serious look at how I spend my leisure time.  I really don’t have a problem with the “how” of it, but I want to be more conscious of those things I’m working on and show progress for my sanity… even if the progress is very small.

I have an attention deficit when it comes to projects.  I have a hunger to learn new things, and yet I love returning to things that are comfortable and easy to work on.  So, I’ve decided that in order to accomplish all that I want to, while focusing on what’s really important in life, I need to at least list all the things that are currently in some state of progress.

So, I’ve added a new page to my blog.  It’s titled “Limited Leisure”.  That’s not to say I’m going to severely limit my leisure time.  Okay, I don’t really have a way to limit it more than it already is.  I’m really hoping to squeeze more out of it.  Not so that I can quickly and efficiently complete things.  But, I want to enjoy the time I spend, yet show the progress I make.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that I want to decrease the number of things I work on, or that I won’t start anything new.  I just have some wonderful pieces that I want to get finished.  Sheesh, you were probably thinking I was committing to a diet of “I won’t start anything new until I’ve completed 100 pieces…” or something like that.  Nope.  Tried that.  Doesn’t work.  And, I’m not sure I wanted it to anyway.  I do want to enjoy this journey of needlecraft, and any other hobbies and interests that strike my fancy.

So, for all of you out there that think you have the most WIPs or the oldest UFO, watch out!  I’ll be updating this page a bit at a time with a list of all the things that I want to use my limited amount of true leisure time on.  (Because really, do you think I want to inventory everything all at once?  And, take all that time out of my stitching time in one big chunk?)  And, you just might notice that I’ve marked something as “complete” every once in a while.

But, lest you think that I only want to spend my time in these pursuits, be assured that I have plenty of more worthwhile things on my to do list.  I call them “humanity things” and not “sanity things”.  I prefer to be anxiously engaged in a good cause and most times that’s not one of my personal hobbies.

That’s it for now.  I haven’t even listed the books I want to finish and/or start to read.  Maybe that will have to be another page.

