I’ve had a love affair with mac and cheese for most of my life. I love the stuff in all variations: the famous blue box mix, homemade comfort food with five cheeses, the frozen kind by the famous frozen food company…you name it. It’s one of those comfort foods that just can’t be beat. Soft, squishy pasta surrounded by creamy cheese, then just enough crunchy cheese on the top to make you work a little. It’s one of the few foods that I think is worth all the time I’m now spending on my recumbent bike!

I remember a visit with my grandmother. She asked us what we wanted for dinner. We all yelled, “macaroni and cheese!” So, being the kind, loving grandmother that she was, she began to pull all the ingredients for macaroni and cheese from her cupboards. We were appalled. We protested. We wanted the stuff from the blue box. She was appalled. She insisted that although our mother (her own daughter) would cook from a box, SHE would not. And, then, something wonderful happened. She made this fantastic macaroni and cheese. She even added tomatoes…which to a kid is usually very yucky stuff. I’ve been trying to duplicate that recipe for some time now. Grandma’s making mac and cheese on the other side now. I’m kicking myself that I didn’t make her write down a recipe. And, that’s just another reason why I really miss her. Not the most important reason, but a good reason nonetheless.

